The Best is Yet to Come

cake

Yesterday, my sweet husband and I celebrated our 8th anniversary. To celebrate, we went to a scenic winery overlooking the pale blue waters of Lake Chelan. A gentle breeze lilted among an array of beautifully dressed diners who collectively seemed to be enjoying a pleasant evening together. I looked into my husband’s eyes, so familiar and warm. Love overwhelmed my heart as I reflected on the years we’ve spent together, the trials we’ve faced, tears cried, shared joys, and triumphs. In the early years, there were days when I thought marriage was too hard, that perhaps our happily ever after would never come. But, he fought for me. That man of mine fought like there was no tomorrow.And I’m so glad he did. I’m so blessed that he didn’t give up. We fought together. And little by little, prayer brought victory, renewal, and hope. Jesus restored us both as individuals and brought us closer together than we ever thought possible. On our wedding day, I thought I could never love him more than I did then. I was wrong. Eight years of growing together have cultivated a love that is richer and deeper than words can describe.

As our date neared its end, I folded my cream-colored napkin and placed it near my plate of half-eaten butterscotch pudding. “Things just keep getting better don’t they,” he smiled. Yes they do, they really do.

Leave a comment